E.C. Declaration on Yugoslavia December 16

After the death of president Tito in 1980, tension developed between Serbia and other republics, with Croatia and Slovenia, in particular, complaining of increasing Serbia dominance of the SFRY. June 1991 Croatia & Slovenia declared their independence Bosnia-Herzegovina, fighting broke out on ethnic lines after the February 1992 referendum in which Muslims and Croats voted overwhelmingly for independence 1995 Dayton Agreement

The Community, agree to recognise the independence of all the Yugoslav republics fulfilling all the conditions set bellow in the light of their guidelines on recognition of the new states in Easter Europe and in USSR, therefore inviting all the Yugoslav republics by 23 December whether - They wish to be recognised as independent - They accept the above mentioned guidelines - They accept the draft convention 1991 [for settlement of Yugoslav crisis, never adopted], especially chapter on human rights - Support efforts of Security Council, Secretary General, conference on Yugoslavia The community and its members states also require a Yugoslav republic to commit itself, prior to recognition to adopt constitutional and political guaranties insuring that it has not territorial claims toward a neighbouring community state and that it will conduct no hostile propaganda activities versus a neighbouring community state, including the use of denomination which implies territorial claims